A call out to you, dear reader(s)! I face a rather long and sometimes-harrowing commute three days a week to my internship at Chambers, and I have found that the best way to combat the little hell that is Beijing morning rush hour is the lowly, lovely podcast. NPR’s Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me is a stalwart, as is their Live Concert Series (who knew that they would have Gillian Welch, David Rawlings, AND David Rawlings Machine, aka Gillian Welch & David Rawlings, all recorded? A godsend). I’ve also more recently gotten into the New Yorker’s Fiction podcasts (thanks, Jenny). But now I am looking to expand my horizons beyond, well, NPR and the New Yorker. Tell me, in email or commentz, what your favorite podcasts are! Be advised that, for some cruel and unusual reason, two of my other standards, This American Life and WNYC’s radiolab, do not work in China for some reason. Tears have been shed and teeth have been gnashed, to no avail. Basically, what’s new outside my tiny, liberal podcast world? I am open to any genres, and I do prefer long-form broadcasts over shorter segments — one of the reasons I can’t really get into TEDtalks (which I am well aware of, yet never could muster enough sincere interest in…) I have three hours a day, three days a week, to fill, at the very least. Please (seriously, please) recommend away!

